Good News, Bad News

This blog may cause nausea. The topic has my stomach flip-flopping. It is about insurance. Some of you need not read any further. You may have your own gut-wrenching stories to discuss.

When I was single and had only my  teacher’s salary to declare, I qualified for The Oregon Health Care. For some things, it covered costs a hundred percent. Other things, not a thing.

The restrictions have been potentially costly. I could only go to a pre prescribed doctor. I got lucky as I like Doctor Hacker a lot. Easy name to remember. The doc I had for over twenty years works at Oregon Medical Group, which won’t touch clients with The OHP.

When I talked to the doctor about getting Prolia, the only drug I can use for Osteoporosis, she said OHP won’t cover it. What do I do? Get better insurance was her advice.

Now that I am married, I can pay for Sylvia’s insurance at about a grand a month. More than half of my income will go to paying for insurance.

Today I found out that Moda covers Prolia. Good News, you would be thinking, but then I asked how much would be coming out of my pocket. For a one mg shot, which is a twice a year affair for the rest of my life. 

$411.00. I have had a few if of these shots, but never had to take a hit like that in the wallet.

What it’s happening to the grand I am giving the insurance doing? Waiting for an accident or heart attack that could clean me out, though the daily stuff is already doing that, though at a slow rate.

9 Comments

  1. I’m thinking your story here is just the tip of the iceberg of healthcare woes, that exist now but that will get so much worse after the new King… er… President takes office in January. I don’t know… is there really any good situation for us? My Paul takes a drug to make up for his not have ANY thyroid at all – removed because of thyroid cancer. He cannot live without the drug which replaces the thyroid… he pays a co-pay of $10/month. I read recently that he may have to start paying, out of his pocket, almost $500 or $600 a month… once changes go into effect sometime soon. This is not acceptable, and yet, he needs this drug to live…

  2. I’m thinking your story here is just the tip of the iceberg of healthcare woes, that exist now but that will get so much worse after the new King… er… President takes office in January. I don’t know… is there really any good situation for us? My Paul takes a drug to make up for his not having ANY thyroid at all which was removed because of thyroid cancer. He cannot live without the drug that replaces the thyroid… he pays a co-pay of $10/month. I read recently that he may have to start paying, out of his pocket, almost $500 or $600 a month… once changes go into effect sometime soon. This is not acceptable, and yet, he needs this drug to live…

I'd love to hear from you.

