A Simple Search Can Say a Lot About a Book

A year or so ago, in a short stretch of time, I saw the book title, The Girl On The Train time after time. It seemed like everyone was reading it. I have a vague recollection of seeing it advertised in the tunnels of London. I lack proof and I definitely don’t trust my memory. If a story depended upon a particular fact, tweaking is understandable as well as accepted.

I could say I saw a man reading this book on a train, but it was a plane, and I am not sure if it was a man.

I hadn’t given the book any thoughts for quite a while  when it presented itself to me at the Eugene Public Library. They have bookshelves near the checkout. Lucky Day books: books that can’t go back on their shelves because there’s not enough room.

Maybe the book was so popular, they couldn’t keep the books on the shelf, but now that the fame and newness has faded, there’s no room for the book to roost.

When I typed in the author’s name, Paula Hawkins, in Goodreads, 69 books came up. But, the”psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives” was her debut book, and it came out only in 2015.

Most of the other books are books about the book. Synopsis. Abbreviated ideas of what the book is about for those people who don’t want to read the book, but perhaps they were assigned to either read it or teach it.

Time to dig in. At least I know that there is a plethora of books I can turn to if I don’t understand it. Wish me luck. 

I'd love to hear from you.

