This face

Earlier today, I caught a glimpse of my reflection. The lines around my eyes, laugh lines, used to fade when I didn’t smile. Maybe this just means I have had a lot to smile about or that I’ve learned a lot in my 56 years so far.20161009_me Unless I start doing something about my crow’s feet, my face will show my age. Has aging finally caught up with me? I’ve never looked my age.

me1960sI came across a picture of a cute little thing. I’m almost positive that it’s me.  I have no recollection the floor, but I have an extremely vague recollection of the toy.

me70sZip ahead a decade or so. My one and only time in Washington, D.C. I’m with the son of my father’s girlfriend, the one that he almost married, but with her ultra liberalism and my dad’s polar opposite, no one figured it would work. Was her name Penny? Mary? Yes. Mary even moved in with us for a very short time. It’s not like my dad had that many girlfriends, but she was one of my favorites.

parakeetI was going to throw in my high school senior picture, which is a great picture, but it does give away my lazy eye. I also couldn’t resist showing off my parakeet again.

When I look at my face and the changes it’s made along the way, I think of how much has happened that has effected my identity. One of the best things that ever happened was when my path crossed with Sylvia twenty-eight years ago.

10-09-2016-062802pmTwenty-eight years ago, Sylvia moved in with me to take care of me while I went through cancer treatment. Our relationship was young, just starting. She didn’t have to do this. I could have returned to Boston. That was half my life ago and just the beginning of the sacrifices Sylvia has made on my behalf, on our behalf.

Chronologically, my life feels lined up. As I mentioned, we’ve been together half of my life. Half of those twenty-eight years, we’ve been living in this incredible Dome Home that Sylvia built. For four years, she worked full-time while building the dome from the ground up, which was practically a full-time job in itself.

Today, October 10, 2016, we exchanged vows at the local courthouse, making our relationship legal. I wonder what will come our way in the next twenty-year-years.

4 comments

  1. I’m doing a happy dance here for you both! Happy Wedding Day! So exciting. Lovely picture! You both look so happy. Congratulations to you both.

    (and about those crow’s feet… drink lots of water, put some moisturizing cream on your face each evening before bed, never let soap of any kind touch your face… and forget about them. That’s all you can do, but they are part of you, and you are beautiful!

  2. I am so sorry that “duty called” and I was unable to be there for you. Sylvia was one of my first “non work” friends I met when we came to Eugene, and we’ve shared a lot of experiences, both on the ball fields (as umpires) and in the back row (as brass musicians). Congratulations to you both on this amazing day.

  3. Just stumbled on this:
    According to the Mayo Clinic, there are a number of reasons a person may develop wrinkles, specifically crow’s feet.
    Reasons include:
    • Genetics
    • Sun exposure
    • Lack of sleep
    • Smoking
    • Drinking alcohol
    • Poor diet
    • Environmental pollution
    The reasons you develop crow’s feet may be difficult to determine, but know that there are a few natural remedies that have been proven to be effective. Let’s discuss a few.
    1. Cucumber
    A cucumber is an excellent option for cleaning and calming the skin. According to Top Ten Home Remedies, the thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, vitamins B5 and B6 nourish the skin and offers protection from damaging sun exposure.
    To use:
    Cut a cucumber in half and rub the juices directly on the eye for a few minutes twice per day.
    2. Egg Whites
    Egg white can work wonders for tightening the skin. As egg whites dry on the face, it causes the skin to become very taut. Repeated application will help reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
    To use:
    Simply beat egg whites into a froth and apply to the skin. Allow it to set until it drys. Remove with cool water.
    3. Coconut Oil
    The concentrated levels of Vitamin E found in coconut oil works to repair damaged skin and delay the development of crow’s feet. Additionally, the oil works like a moisturizer to keep skin smooth and soft.
    To use:
    Apply a small amount to the area of the eye and rub into skin. Allow it to set overnight before washing away in the morning.
    4. Milk
    According to an article posted on Search Home Remedy, the glycolic acid found in milk helps repair damaged skin and promotes collagen in the skin. Drinking milk every day can help promote a collagen growth. Not a fan of milk? You can opt to apply it directly to the face with a cotton ball instead.
    To use:
    Dab a cotton ball with milk and apply a thin layer all over the place. Pay particular attention to the eye area. Rinse. Repeat 2-3 times per week for best results.
    5. Aloe Vera
    The antioxidant properties found in aloe vera ward against free radicals in the skin that may develop into wrinkles. The vitamins found in aloe vera can also protect, tone, and moisturize skin.
    To use:
    Drink one tablespoon of aloe vera juice twice a day to ingest the antioxidant properties found in the plant. If you prefer not to drink it, you can apply the gel from the leaves to the skin before going to sleep. Wash away in the morning.
    6. Raw Honey and Yogurt
    According to an article from Global Healing Center, a mixture of raw honey and yogurt proves to be a repairing concoction for the skin. The lactic acid found in yogurt works to exfoliate the skin while raw honey moisturizes and cleans bacteria.
    To use:
    Apply one tablespoon of raw honey and equal parts yogurt. Apply the mask to the entire face and allow it to set 10 minutes before washing away.
    7. Avocado
    Avocado is an excellent ingredient to include in a homemade mask. The oils found in avocado work to moisturize, tone and cleanse the skin. It also helps prep the skin to absorb valuable nutrients such as vitamins A, C, and E. According to Top 10 Home Remedies, the vitamin E and D found in avocado can boost collagen and diminish wrinkles. Keeping the skin moisturized will help slow down the natural progression of aged skin.
    To use:
    Mash an avocado and apply an even layer to the face. Allow it to set for 20 minutes before removing. Repeat this once a day to keep skin moisturized.
    8. Chocolate
    While eating just any chocolate probably won’t do your face much good; dark chocolate certainly can. It proves to not only be good news for your taste buds, but your skin as well. According to an article from Global Healing Center, cocoa found in dark chocolate contains epicatechin and catechin. These chemicals help protect the skin from UVB sun damage which can contribute to the appearance of wrinkles.
    To use:
    Indulge in a few bites of chocolate per day to promote protection from the natural properties found in this delicious remedy.

I'd love to hear from you.

