Insurance part B

Thursday, September 10, 2015

This blog is my tailgating activity before the big game tonight between My New England Patriots and the Pittsburgh Steelers, and since I’m still working on my insurance choice, this means I have an hour and thirty-four minutes to get it done.

I’m so confused with my insurance choices. I got an email telling me of this great opportunity to pay for my own insurance. Who wouldn’t jump at that opportunity? I went to a two hour meeting about these choices, but I could have sworn I had the choice between letters A and something else, but HR is telling me:

“4J offers you five medical plans from which to select coverage. Within Plans C, D, E, F, or G you will have the option of selecting one of the two Moda Networks. You may select either the existing “Connexus Network” (Statewide), which provides you more provider choices or the “Synergy Network” coordinated care model, which will require you to make a selection of an In-Network Primary Care Medical Home for you and each of your covered dependents.”

I came away from the meeting overwhelmed and saturated with too much information, but they said that we could go to the O Whatever Acronym and enter those procedures that might be coming down your pike. I’m at that second colonoscopy time and who knows how long my knee will last time. The program would then give me an estimate of what my costs would be and to compare the the different coverage.

I tried to log in, but the system said I needed to call and talk to a real person. I did that immediately. Dawn was extremely helpful and told me that I had to call and talk to an entity at my place of work. Did that. That person was out of town for the holiday. But as warned, the over working person calls me last night when she should have been home with her family, but she said that once I send in the paperwork, I’ll get entered into the system. She was adamant that wall of the pdf’s and attachments would answer all of my questions.

With you as my support network, my faithful fan-base, even the lurkers, perhaps I can hold onto your hand as I walk the maze. Are you with me? Thanks. I knew I could count on you.

What I know right now is that I get to choose a letter between C & G. So what if B happens to be my favorite letter. No, I don’t have a favorite letter. Do you? It’s never occurred to me that someone would have one. Isn’t it right up there with favorite number or color or food?

From within those letters I then:

“You may select either the existing “Connexus Network” (Statewide), which provides you more provider choices or the “Synergy Network” coordinated care model, which will require you to make a selection of an In-Network Primary Care Medical Home for you and each of your covered dependents.”

I like the phrase more prover choices, but I wouldn’t mind if my care were coordinated; My doctors don’t speak the same language. My primary can’t read the X-rays I had for OMG. I don’t think anyone ever saw those X-rays since I never have.

When I look at the Monthly contributions, We’re looking at what can I afford not whether I want it or not. And I don’t know what any of the letters mean, but EE is $516 a month in plan G. Four letters to the left and it’s $677 a month, and that’s just straight EE. That is with dental. The same plane without dental, I’m down to $464 a month. Plan C is $677 a month.

Is it do I want to pay now or later? Plan C has a $500 Deductible and plan G has a $1500 deductible. Am I going to see the doctor a lot and hit the deductible quickly? Or do I want to have to pay at least $1500 before insurance starts paying. Darn. I didn’t realize that there were two pages, so now I double my choices because there’s the statewide plan and the synergy plan.

I wonder if I can get a loan if my savings account goes dry when I don’t work  enough to pay my monthly bill.

One Comment

  1. It’s a simple question.

    “If Donald Trump were the Republican nominee, would you support him?”

    It’s either a “yes” or “no” answer. What’s so darn hard about that? Pick one. Close your eyes and pick one!

    Jindal = Zero.

    (Sorry, I had to comment on this)

    On the deductible, after knowing you for more than a year now, I am thinking that a lower deductible might be better for you. You have multiple physicians and alternatives and you need to have your medical bills paid after a lower deductible, I think, not after going as high as $1500 each time. I can see that getting out of control real fast.

    But what do I know?

I'd love to hear from you.

