2014-2015 School Year

Tomorrow, my last day of work for the 2014-2015 school year, I get to be a shop teacher at Thurston High School. The kids will be like putty in my hand. I can only hope. By this point in the year, I would think that the high schoolers would be well into their wood projects and will be motivated to work hard.

I wish I had a magic wand that could wave about as I flit about the classroom, sprinkling  Motivation Magic Dust on the slackers and disinterested and bored kidletts. It’s got me thinking about what my magic wand would be like, though just being able to spread the jazz with a flick of my wrist. I wouldn’t want schools to think that I come armed and a magic wand may give off the wrong impression.

Sometimes it’s better to subtly apply motivation, catching students off guard. Law of Motion, if there is such a thing. Maybe I’m thinking about some sort of Law of Thermodynamics and energy. If I want an object to move, especially when the object is larger than I, which matches the description of most of the students that I teach, it helps to get the object moving.

Teaching the unmotivated is like having to push a car, sometimes there’s even an incline. Sometimes i can get a student moving; if I am really lucky, the dead-car-like-student’s motor will even start. Most of the time, I am able to get a little bit of forward motion, though unfortunately, there are also some times I have to step aside to prevent from being backed over.

Today I was at Thurston Middle School, only my third time at the school, and I had a really good day. I had to do quite a bit of car-pushing, but I had fun. I knew before I walked into room fifteen that with only two days to go before  starting Summer Vacation, it would have taken a lot for me to shake me out of my good mood. I really walking on sunshine all day. I can’t wait for tomorrow. Maybe I’ll be on cloud nine.

I'd love to hear from you.

