Tripping

Thursday, March 19, 2015

It’s official: we’re traveling to Europe in May. Switzerland. Germany. England. France had been in the plans, but I elected to spend more time in Germany, my paternal father land.

I don’t travel very often. During my bowling days, I traveled I-5 to the Portland area and to Washington at least once a month, but only for weekends. I travel to Boston every few years or so.

The hardest aspect of the trip is that I’m a homebody. On weekends, vacations, summers, I don’t leave the property very often. I’ve got everything that I need at home. I’ve got my family. My books. My writing. My garden. My plants.

So, taking off for more than three weeks is a bit of an undertaking. Leaving my pack of dogs at home is harder for me than it is for them. The cats will be fine as long as someone is there to feed them, though last year, Yang, my Calico Girl, freaked out and left the house, which she never does, and wouldn’t come in. just a yawnIt took me weeks of coaxing her begging for her to finally come back inside.

I would love to hear about experiences you have had in traveling. I’m so excited, but May seems so far away. I know it will sneak up on me. My goal is to make the best of this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity before, during, and after.

I'd love to hear from you.

