Scooters versus scooter

Monday, December 1, 2014

I can’t believe that it’s December, but that’s a different story that I may or may not get around to writing.

I came across this horrible email describing accidents that Scooters can cause: spin_prod_1031419812

“Here’s a sobering statistic to ponder before buying holiday gifts for your kids: A new study shows that a child with a toy-related injury is treated in a U.S. emergency department every 3 minutes. Much of that increase was due to one type of toy: foot-powered scooters.

The researchers found that about 3.3 million children with toy-related injuries were treated in ERs between 1990 and 2011, and the toy-related injury rate rose nearly 40 percent during that time….”

As some of you know, I’ve been teaching elementary physical education. Lots of tears have been shed in this gym, though mostly are of the emotional sort. Tears are tears and they really pull on my heart strings.

Unfortunately, until I got really strict on the usage and rules in playing beyond safe, I was having multiple students a day get hurt because of scooters. One student even lost part of his front two teeth. The above statistics were sickening to think that I had put these little kiddos in harm’s jeopardy.

And then I saw the picture of the scooter that the above article was talking about. Pedal-Powered doesn’t mean just that the feet are used to propel an object like the scooters my kids use. They don’t stand on these small square pieces of plastic with four wheels, aka scooters; they are nothing to be compared with against the two-wheeled Scooter that ought to have helmet laws attached to its use.

If you are worrying about me and my choice of activities that I closely monitor, breathe a sigh of relief as the scooters that let these kids use are about three inches from the floor. The square surface is being held up by four wheels. They can sit on the scooter, lay on the scooter, but they can’t stand on the scooter. Ever since I made the kids actually pay attention to where they were going, injuries have been non-existent.

These younguns have the same odds of getting hurt if they were playing badminton or catch. I’m not even sure if Duck-duck-goose will prevent bruises and other various wounds. Sometimes I have to look very closely to even find their wounds, but I treat them just the same. Maybe this is why I am falling in love with these guys.

Oh, by the way, one kid asked if he could pull out the unicycles? Absolutely not, negative. Never!

2 comments

  1. Trying to keep all kids from getting hurt while playing sounds like an Anti-Life scheme to me. We all got hurt doing things as kids, that’s how we learned to ride a bike, that’s how we knew not to speed down the sidewalk at 90 mph – bumps in the surface cause crashes! If there were no hurts while playing, wouldn’t a kid’s life be the most boring thing in the world?

    • There’s a balance. Laws and regulations are created to protect ourselves from ourselves. Recently in Eugene, a young girl was killed while skateboarding. No helmet. I hate wearing a helmet while biking. I don’t like the feel, and I don’t like the dorky look, but if it’s going to keep my brain inside my skull, I’m all for it.

I'd love to hear from you.

