Second draft of Zero to Hero Day 27

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Today is going to be a great writing day. I can just feel it. I’ve got my Columbian Fair Trade Select medium roast coffee nearby. I have a dog at my feet. Abby the Labby Number Nine isn’t bugging me to play with her and is content to chew on a artificial bone and merely looks at me instead of pawing at me lap. The weather is cooperating since it is raining hard that I have no interest in stepping out into the wet unless I really, really have to. All of these ingredients set the stage for a good writing moment, though I’m noticing my metaphors are a bit mixed and need some ironing out. I’ll see what I can do about that. I’m looking at today’s assignment:

Hero to Zero day 27: revisit a task and a post. Today’s assignment is to Pick your favorite of all the tasks we’ve done so far, and revisit it. How can you continue to grow? (Bonus: revisit a post that’s been on your mind, and make the edits you’ve been thinking about.)

Favorite task. Sometimes the hardest tasks are the best tasks. I have struggled with the mechanics of WordPress, my blog page. I don’t like the menus on my theme. I spent a lot of time yesterday tweaking and changing, and then I had trouble getting a post to stick, to publish, so I wasn’t sure if that was due to something I had changed. But my brain is not in the mood to do logistics. My brain wants to just spit words out and have a good time. It’s like the difference between driving fast in my Mini Cooper, my dream car that I love to pieces, or getting under the hood and messing around, which I would never dream of, but for metaphors, it’s the same the way with writing and messing around with the logistics of my Blog page. When my brain doesn’t want to do something, it’s really hard to convince it to do otherwise.

So, to pull out the threads from the fabric that’s been sewn with this Zero to Hero Thirty Day challenge, the assignments that I would consider my favorites all have to do with connecting with other bloggers. I enjoyed messing around with the Reader and following blogs. I’m following quite a few and can’t keep up, but that’s a different matter. I’ve definitely enjoyed leaving comments. I have a few people that we’ve got a pretty good dialogue going and hope the conversation continues. I haven’t noticed that activating social networks has done anything for my readership, but perhaps that’s because I’ve not been active in those other social networks. Starting a new blogging challenge was fun for that first day, but I’m not sure how I can find the time to do more than one challenge at the same time, and it sort of feels like cheating if I use the same post for two different assignments. It doesn’t sort of feel like cheating. It is cheating. I was all set to write about sliced bread last night, but I was spending so much time trying to get a zero to hero post to publish in its entirety that I ran out of time and had to go to bed.

And since my brain is in a writing gear, I’m thinking that I would like to combine this assignment with another writing challenge, so it’s not really cheating; it’s just being efficient.

As I was reading about blog hopping, I came across  “it can help you fill your blog’s editorial calendar with new post ideas.” I’ve seen the phrase your blog’s editorial calendar, and I have no idea what that means, so perhaps this is the rabbit hole I’ll do down for this post…

“It’s about Time: On Editorial Calendars (and Why You Might Need One)

by Ben Huberman on October 17, 2013

When it comes to building a healthy following, nothing is more important than publishing quality content regularly. Keeping a steady pace isn’t always easy, though.”

While looking at the WordPress Blog page, I’m very jealous at the layout; it’s tidy; things fit together. The page is full. i want something like this. I’m just not sure how to make that happen. I tell myself, “Little Grasshopper, give it time.” But I’m impatient. I want to be an expert now. Better yet, I want to be an expert yesterday.

My brain must not be absorbing or processing written information since I read or mostly read Ben’s article and didn’t come away with an understanding of what an editorial calendar is. I think I was expecting a step-by-step list that would put a physical item called editorial calendar on my page, and maybe it’s there and I missed it. Moving on.

I did just learn that I can schedule my posts to publish at a later time. I can’t wrap my head around why I would want to do that, but it’s a curious idea. I’m still thinking about that post that refused to be published. Perhaps I had changed the schedule setting somehow. I know I changed way too many things and there’s no way I an backtrack and undo what I’ve done, especially not while my brain is in this kind of mood. The rainy and foggy weather out my window represents my brain’s mood. It doesn’t really know what it wants. I’m actually using this blog to figure it out. Hopefully I am not boring anyone. Hopefully there are people out there in the blogosphere that can relate. I am writing to find myself. What tag words should I use for this concept?

I will say that there are a lot of tunnels in this rabbit hole that I’m traveling. I’ve now meandered over to the forums, a place I’ve never been before. At least the paths are well-lit. I have to admit that I do not know how a sticky works, though I’m still kind of clueless on what the purpose of a page is and how to get pages and posts linked. In my mind, I would have a page for zero to hero, and all the posts would go there. I didn’t realize that I would get so OCD about how my page looks, but it really is bugging me how messy it looks. My blogs are not lining up, and I’m a very sequential person and want my zero to hero posts to line up from latest to earliest, but for some reason one day, day 21 or day 22, is the alpha.

So, I’m reading Hero to Zero Day 27 forum post to see what stirs my fancy. I think I’ve gotten the hang of links, though I just read this passage about links: “Please refrain from posting links to your blog unless you’re seeking feedback — this is a place for discussion. Irrelevant comments and spammy links will be deleted. Instead, give your posts the “zerotohero” tag to enable other participants to find you.” Hopefully, since I am looking for feedback it’s okay that i do these links. I’m sure someone like Michelle, will tell me.

I am enjoying the forum, though I notice that some members names are clickable, they are in blue, and other names are not. I stumbled upon a great blogger the heart of a southern woman, or something like that. I hope it’s okay that I link her page. I like the looks of her Blog page and I enjoy what she has to say.

I suspect that this random blog of this and that could go on forever, and since I’ve been writing and reading for over an hour, I think I will call it good and get it out into the world. Yesterday’s post that said I was all ears did not get a nibble. But since I had such great trouble getting it published, it hasn’t really had time. I think the bait is still on the hook. Hard to tell. So, I’ve got another fishing line out and hope I can catch something.

I guess I’m not done. The only thing that this fishing line caught was “unauthorized.” I’ve never gotten this response before.

Maybe, I just need to walk away and go soak in the bathtub and then see if I can solve this problem. I’m also hoping that someone from the forum will reply to give me a clue what to do about this strange dilemma. Have I somehow been blocked or banned for being too annoying?

I'd love to hear from you.

