Character’s in People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

January 22, 2014

This will be a post that I may be coming back to as I work my way through the book, People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks. I had hoped that I could tie new posts into new pages, but that doesn’t seem to be the way this works. Next time, I’ll create a new blog, but for now I’ll just muddle my way through this experiment. The posts will be scattered.

Hanna is my first character. I don’t know much about her except that she works in a lab sometimes; she travels the world.  She says that her hands are not one of her better features. “Chapped, wattled across the back, they don’t look like they belong on my wrists, which I am happy to report are slender and smooth like the rest of me. Charwoman‘s hands, my mother called them, the last time we argued.” She’s from Sydney and enjoys irritating her mother with irony.

Hamish Sajan is a Scottish Sikh. From Hanna’s point of view, “he is very dapper in Harris tweed and an indigo turban.

Fifteenth-century manuscript. Property of the National Museum

I'd love to hear from you.

