Zero to Hero Assignment Eight

Thursday, January 9, 2014zero-to-hero-banner

The Zero to Hero focus for Day 8: Make Your “About” Page Irresistible.

Today’s assignment: create an About page, or revisit and improve the one you have.

In accepting this assignment, I spent time fishing around Word Press to see what other people have done to make their About pages more attractive, more alluring. I can’t say that what I saw impressed me to the degree that I experienced goose bumps. Mostly I felt like I was going off on different tangents, and this is extremely dangerous waters for me to travel. I can get so lost in time when it comes to tangents. One link leads to another link and so on and so on, and before I realize it, hours have passed and I’ve got nothing to show for my efforts. Nothing tangible.

I can’t say that I was bored. Obviously if time went by that quickly, it goes with that adage of “time flies when you’re having fun.” This was definitely not the case yesterday when I was substituting at a high school. The majority of the classes were tough, a lot of complaining and whining. “Our teacher always let’s us use our notes on quizzes”…So, why didn’t your teacher tell me this? Or, “Our teacher always let’s us listen to music and play on our cell phones” yet there’s a large poster with no cell phones and electronics posted.” Anyway, the last three minutes of the last class of the day I experienced a time shift. Well, it was more like a time stall. Time didn’t move. It felt like the class would never be over, and that’s what Hell would be like. Spending an eternity with unruly and uncaring students. That image alone will help me lead a better life.

I'd love to hear from you.

