Sara Bareilles

Sara Bareilles

Sara Bareilles in 2010 at the Lilith Fair

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Day 6 for Zero to Hero. I’m to publish a post that includes a new element. Throwing in a photo into my journal or other forms of writing isn’t something new.  But in this venue, it is something new. What I want to know is if I can add other forms of media at the same time? Wouldn’t it be cool if I could throw in the YouTube of Sara Bareilles’ singing the song “Brave.” How about the lyrics of the song?

For a project, I am learning Sara’s song, Brave. The first stanza of the song

You can be amazing

You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug

You can be the outcast

Or be the backlash of somebody’s lack of love

Or you can start speaking up

(I’m having a fight with a end quotation mark. If I use the quotation button imbedded in this program, the last quotation falls off. Can I only end the paragraph with a paragraph with a quotation? And if I have a picture and a quotation, what format do I use? Standard? Quote? Image? I can’t choose all three.)

Oh, I see that I’m chasing that end quotation mark…When I hit the return, I see the quotation mark sliding down. I can’t get the cursor and the quotation mark to match up.

Back to the song. You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug. I love analyzing songs. I think about my own tongue. I grew up in a sarcastic household. As the youngest daughter of four, I learned quickly that the best way to be on the defensive is to be quick-witted, to be on the offensive. If someone gives me an opening, it’s really, really hard to resist plugging in something that is very funny, even though what is funny is cutting and the words have sharp edges. Sarcasm for me is a bad habit. It took me a long time to realize that some people just don’t get sarcasm, and if I do sarcasm well where my persona is stoic and serious appearing, one can’t really tell if I am being sarcastic.

For those of you who watch Big Bang Theory will know what I mean by using Sheldon as an example of not being able to read sarcasm. The dude can’t read regular facial expressions or basic verbal intonations, so how’s he supposed to know if he got zinged or not, or in his case, Bazinga.

I think I could go on and on about sarcasm and about the song Brave, but I’ve got choir practice to get ready for and I wanted to get my Blogging Homework done before. I never did get to practice putting in another medium…

6 Comments

  1. Hi Susan, I wanted to leave this on your about page but couldn’t see a comment section. I Look forward to more of your posts. Love you beautiful doggie. I have a dog that I post about occasionally and make way too much of her. Thanks for following!

        1. Nice looking dog. What is her name? Was she a rescue dog? I like the looks of your page. How long did it take for you to get the layout the way you wanted? Have you been blogging long? Do you work in a library?

          1. Hi Susan, Lucy dog is not actually mine. My daughter’s boy friend gave her a puppy for a birthday present! This was not initially as ill advised as it sounds, since the dog was going to live at his house. Long story short, the Lucy ended up at my house. We love her though so it’s O.K.
            I’ve been blogging for about 8 months. It took me a long time to get my blog set up the way I wanted it as I had very little computer knowledge. I practically memorized the Word Press for Dummies book in the process. I’m still trying to add another category to the top menu – the about, travel, etc headings. I wanted to do one called dog tales where I could put my lucy posts, but can’t get it to appear. Any ideas?
            Anyway, here’s another Dog Tale if you like –

            http://geanieroake.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/dog-tales-cleverly-disguised-2/

I'd love to hear from you.

