Day Two of going from Zero to Hero in thirty days.

Friday, January 3, 2014

The thing that I most enjoy about writing is that I never really know what I am going to write until I finish writing. Today’s assignment feel’s a bit fuzzy to me. The assignment for Day 2: What’s your name? I thought at first I was to weigh in on my name, Susan Honthumb. A name without a middle name; if I ever get around to adding one, I would take Preston as my middle name, a name from my mother’s side of the family. I thought that perhaps I would write about how Honthumb is a dying name and that my sister’s and I and a couple of nieces are the last of the line, but upon further inspection, that story will have to wait; this story is requiring me to question the name of my blog. What are the things that I can say to lure readers into my fold? What are the things that I can avoid saying to turn a quick negative judgment that would cause readers to conclude that my writing wouldn’t interest them.

“Today, you’ll name your blog and expand on that with an “About this Blog” widget, drawing on the introductory post you published yesterday. Let no reader click away to the next site because they were unsure of your focus!”

I predicted that this assignment was going to be a challenge. Not that I’m having trouble coming up with words to put down on this white space, but that I don’t have the slightest idea where to find  my About this Blog widget. Does this demonstrate my age or lack of experience in the internet world to be ignorant of a Widget. I suppose I’ll have to do some more hunting around…I do recall writing about me, but with so many menus and places to choose, I’m dumbfounded right now.

I did find the widgets, and I did fiddle with About me. Talk about hoops to jump. I’ve never been very good at following instructions. I did the best that I could do. I may attempt it again, but since I’m now sitting in the dark with cats on my lap, the Cotton Bowl on the television, it is almost time to get read for league bowling.

2 Comments

  1. “you can’t please everyone, so you got to please yourself.” if someone isn’t interested, they are interested… there are many very eloquent, excellent published writers who never get read, or much, and it’s just the way of things. my only suggestion would be to write from your heart: what touches you, makes you happy, sad, curious, excited, appalled, confused, focused… because if that calls to just one person, and that one person doesn’t feel alone anymore… then, yay! my guess is that many publishers would have considered jk rowling’s writing too immature, or jrr Tolkien too stodgy and textbook-like, Stephen king too graphically violent, and dr.seuss as too bizarre… so I say, follow your heart, write to your heart, and see who it draws in to listen to your stories around your hearth….

I'd love to hear from you.

