Shooting from the hip

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

I love tangents. I’ll talk tangents. Write tangents. Just don’t expect me to stay on the same topic. While writing this, I’m watching Holidays & Happenings on the Dish. I’ve never heard of Tommy Emmanuel.ImageI haven’t listened to Christmas music that often. I think that Christmas music shouldn’t start before Thanksgiving. Today I saw a display for Valentine’s Day. Really? We’re not even done with Christmas. Guess if someone wants to kill two birds with one rock, you can give Valentine’s Candy for a stocking stuffer.

Today’s day two in Florence, Oregon. We took the dogs to the beach. Ricky and Abby had never seen the ocean before; they had never run on the beach before. Lucy is an old hand when it comes to chasing the surf and sea gulls.

Image
Ricky and Abby play in the Pacific

Unfortunately, I wasn’t paying attention to my camera settings. Instead of automatically focusing, the camera was expecting me to manually focus. Since I didn’t do that. All of the pictures are just a blur.Yesterday, I wrote about how I would be comparing Clam Chowders in Florence to see who had the best. Well, so far Surfside Restaurant has the best since I didn’t have any today. I did, however, have an amazing meal of Crab and steamed mussels. I started off with the mussels, about a pound and a half, though I’m not sure what the weight would have been without the shells. They were tasty all on their own, but the flavor was enhanced with garlicy butter.

I enjoyed taking apart the Crab while watching the Oregon State University Beavers dismantle the Boise State Smurf’s. Typically, I cheer for anyone who the Beavers are playing, but not this time.

Peggy Lee is not casting a Christmas Spell on me with her song…Last night we watched White Christmas with Bing Crosby. Why don’t I recognize female actors of this time. I know the name Rosemary Clooney, but there’s no way I could identify her as I do with someone like Danny Kaye.

I’m not looking forward to the New Walter Mitty movie. It’s not like the Thurber story. I liked the Danny Kaye version of my most favorite short story. Perhaps one of these days I’ll re-write my version of My Secret Life of Susan Honthumb that I wrote i

Image
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

n 1972 for a class assignment. What I never could understand is that in the Thurber classic, Walter is nagged by his wife, but in the movie, he’s nagged by his mother.

I sure love James Taylor. He’s singing “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.” I’d have to say that his rendition is one of my favorites, though the only other vocalist who could match him would be Kenny Loggins.

Image
A blurry Ricky

I don’t remember when I set upon the adventure of blogging every day, but I think this is my 18th, seventeen in a row. I love it. Even if I’m the only one reading it. I think it’s time to take the dogs out for their last nightly stroll. Goodnight all.

I'd love to hear from you.

