fond feelings for worms

Today was not a good day to be a worm. The Willamette Valley has been slammed with a lot of rain these past few days that the ground was finally saturated. Worms surfaced. On my way to school this morning I relocated a gigantic earthworm from the drive to avoid running it over. That one survived, but countless others perished. Some drowned. Some got stepped on.
I haven’t always been a worm advocate. I found dissecting worms interesting. I still see specimens pinned with guts, albeit tiny splayed. Do they have more than one heart? I wish I could remember the scientific name for earth worm.

I'd love to hear from you.

